Are you on “Life Support”?

life-supportI had just finished a counseling session with one of my clients over Skype when I decided to go on Facebook to converse with a friend.  While we conversed I took that opportunity to check my emailLinkedin, and Twitter accounts.   After we had finished talking I needed to go on my blog to place a new post, check for any messages on my YouTube account and do a few things on my new web site.   At that point I was ready to run a few errands so I grabbed my cell phone and plugged my Bluetooth into my ear and headed to my car.  As I got into my car it dawned upon me … this feels like I’m on “Life Support” with all these gadgets which I need to connect to life.  Skype … Facebook … video chat …  email … Linkedin … Twitter … blog … YouTube … web site … cell phone … Bluetooth ….. and these are just a few of the things we feel we need in order to connect with life.

I can remember when we got our first TV …. That was almost 60 years ago.  It had a round picture tube and the images where in black and white.  We were able to get maybe half a dozen channels, if the antenna on the house was turned in the right direction and these TV stations would all “sign off” the air at night.  The only other devices in our home were a radio and this big black telephone which we shared the line with six of our neighbors.  This was before internet … cell phones … personal computers … video games … iPods … iPads … i_whatevers …. and dozens of other gadgets.  In only half a century we have come to depend on hundreds of technological items to keep us connected to life … this almost sounds like “Life Support” doesn’t it?

I have often wondered what would happen if we were disconnected from all of our “life Support” items?  Could we survive?  Would we be like that terminal patient in the hospital when he is taken off his “life Support”?  They say our “quality of Life” has improved with all the new technology … has it really?  Have these “Social Networks” really connected us as humans?  I appreciate and even use much of this technology myself … BUT … I want to keep it all in perspective.  I never want to lose genuine human contact nor appreciation for the simple things of life.  While I will continue to use these modern devices in my life … I refuse to allow them to be “Life Support” for me.  I can live without them very easily … and sometimes I find that I long for the simpler days.

Are you living on “life support”?  Could you make it if your “Life Support” was removed?  Do you know how to connect … I mean REALLY CONNECT … with those important people in your life.  I’m not saying get rid of it all … just suggesting that we keep it all in perspective.  Real life and relationships are much more than all these gadgets.

*CHECK OUT our Website for additional articles and helps: http://www.theonesimusconnection.com/articles/

About OnesimusConnection - "A Journey in Self Discovery"

Bill Nichols, is a Board Certified Christian Counselor, a Certified Professional Life Coach, a Certified Behavioral Counselor, a Certified Anger Management Professional and a member of NAMA – The National Anger Management Association. He has Certificates in “Sexual Addictions Counseling”, “Addictions and Recovery” and “Treating Compulsive Sexual Behavior”. He holds a Master of Religious Arts in Christian Counseling Degree, a Bachelor of Biblical Studies Degree and is a member of the AACC – American Association of Christian Counselors Bill has over twenty-five years’ experience in pastoral and professional Life Coaching & Counseling. He has organized and facilitated Anger Management Classes and directed Addictions Programs at various counseling centers in the Jacksonville area including The Salvation Army Adult Rehabilitation Center and The City Rescue Mission. Mr. Nichols has attended five different colleges and is a graduate of Nazarene Bible College in Colorado Springs, CO, International College of Bible Theology in Sikeston, MO and Logos Graduate School in Jacksonville, FL.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

